A Guide to Suckering Tomato Plants

We have the very good fortune to have many Amish friends. We have learned so much from them. Sometimes I think that I should write a book with all the info. My husband does alot of excavation work for them and everytime he comes home from being there he has something new to teach us.

A few years ago they were working with their tomato plants and Rob noticed they were doing “something” with them. When he asked them they explained that they were “suckering” them. Since then “suckering” is just a part of our gardening chores. I thought maybe I would explain it to you in case this was a new thing to you like it was to me.

So…..what is a tomato sucker anyway???
Tomato suckers are the growth that appear in the crotch between the stem and a branch. (See photo above) If left to grow, they will become another main stem with branches, flowers, fruit and more suckers of their own.

How do I sucker my tomato plants?
It is as simple as just breaking off the “little sucker”….;-)

So why should I sucker my tomato plants?
The main reason to sucker your plants is because it allows more energy to go to the rest of the plant. The more stems you have the more the nutrients are spread out. The earlier you start suckering the plants the better. We are pretty faithful with it until they start producing and we begin to back off.

I know that there is alot more information out there if you want to dive deeper into it…(but then you are much more dedicated than I am…) But I thought this gives you a place to start…..

I hope that you have a plentiful garden season…….

About lindajwan

I believe I love words just about as much as I do photography. So I decided instead of writing everything out I will just give you a glimpse of some of the words that make up Linda. I look at it like these were my “tags”…..the words that if you put in a Google Search Linda Wanless would pop up. Love… Family… Jesus… Friendships…Daughter…Mother…Creativity… Photography… Simplicity… Play…Organization… Snuggle… Song… Nature… Sunrise… Cotton… Jamaican Mission Program… Color… Relax… Alone time… Family time… Run away with my incredible husband time… Sunsets… Books…Daughters I never birthed… Texture… Sister… Books… Pillows… Hearts… Texas… Aunt… Travel… Music……… and so many more….my life is filled with abundant overflowing joy and I am beyond grateful to my Heavenly Father for that.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

